Irene's Career Fair Exclusive for Graduates

Friday, October 12, 2018 from 11am-1pm.


Irene's offers lifetime job placement assistance to all of our alumni. The Career Fair offers excellent placement opportunities in a variety of different settings, all in one convenient location. Employers from Southeast Michigan and surrounding areas will be here for on the spot, one on one interviews. Massage chairs will be available for therapists to demonstrate their hands-on skills.

Join us on campus for this great opportunity to find employment with one of the many employers who want to hire Irene's alumni. Be sure to bring copies of your resume to leave with potential employers. If you have any further questions, please call our Career Services Department at 248-350-1400.

Remember to dress for success! There will be numerous employers present for you to meet. You only have one chance to make a first impression.

Alumni Association

Irene's complimentary Alumni Association is an exclusive organization providing fun and informative gatherings to graduates. Our alumni services present enriching experiences following graduation such as massage shares, career development classes and reunion parties. Participating in Irene’s Alumni Association provides an abundance of benefits in addition to networking opportunities. Graduates enjoy continuing education classes at reduced rates and information on the latest trends in massage and regulations governing their career. They receive assistance with state licensing, professional guidance, and a thriving alumni community.

Michigan Massage Licensing

All massage therapists are required to obtain a license from the State of Michigan. It is a criminal violation of the law to practice massage therapy without a board-issued license.

For our students, the school pays for their Massage Board Licensing Exam and their initial State Licensing fee. Our students receive guidance in completing their Michigan licensing application, and we submit their forms to the State upon completion of the student's program.

License Renewal and Continuing Ed Requirements

The following information is Irene’s Myomassology Institute’s best understanding of Michigan’s Massage Licensing Board’s licensing rules as of Fall 2018.

  • An initial massage license (your first one) expires on October 31st. If you received your license less than 120 days prior to October 31st (after July 4th), you will be given one full year plus the number of days until that expiration date. For example, a license issued on September 1st will be valid for 14 months (until October 31st of the following year).
  • The license expiration date and year is printed on the license. You will be sent renewal information in the mail 45-60 days prior to the expiration. It is your responsibility to assure the State has your current address. If you move, you must submit your new info to the State in writing.
  • Continuing Education (CE) is not required for initial license renewal for a therapist’s first year of practice.
  • Renewed licenses are good for 3 years.
  • Beginning on or after November 1, 2018, all renewed massage licenses will be required to complete 18 hours of CE over the next three years. In other words, massage licensing CE will be required for all renewals on and after 2021.
  • If your license expires on October 31, 2018 you will need to complete 18 CE hours before you can renew your license in 2021. If you renew your license in 2019, you will need CE completed by 2022. If you renew in 2020, you will need CE complete by 2023, and so on.
  • Of the required 18 CE hours, 2 hours must be in ethics or professional boundaries, and 1 hour must be in pain management.
  • The 18 hours of CE must be completed during that 3-year renewal cycle. Your CE cannot be taken before you renew your massage license. If you take classes before that, they will not count towards CE.
  • Massage schools/programs approved by the State for entry level education are also approved to offer CE classes.
  • CE providers can also be approved by the NCBTMB, FSTMB, or COMTA.
  • CE hours cannot be carried from one renewal period to the next. If you complete 25 hours of CE in a 3-year cycle, you still must complete 18 hours for the next renewal.
  • You will not submit CE proof when you send your license renewal. The State will conduct random audits of renewals. You will have no idea when or if the State will require your CE documentation. Always keep your CE certificates on hand for at least 4 years after renewal.
  • No more than 12 CE hours can be completed in a 24-hour period.
  • You cannot earn CE credit for the same class more than once.
  • CE credit will not be granted in any of the modalities that are exempt from the massage license law. At this time, the list of exempt modalities that do not count for CE includes the following: Feldenkras, Trager, Polarity, Asian Bodywork, Reiki, Shiatsu, Reflexology and Structural Integration.
  • In addition to CE, a Federal Law requires all individuals licensed under the public health code to complete training on how to identify human trafficking. This is a one-time training requirement that is separate from CE. The human trafficking rule will apply to both initial and renewed licenses. As with CE, the State may randomly audit for documentation of completing training. Licensees who renewed in 2017 must complete training by renewal in 2020; renewals completed in 2018 must complete training by renewal in 2021; and renewals for 2019 by 2022. Beginning March 14, 2022, completion of training is a requirement for initial license issuance.
Note - Irene’s Myomassology Institute always encourages our alumni to further their education, increase their knowledge and improve their skills. Irene’s philosophy was, “You’re always a student!” Contact the school at 248-350-1400, if you have questions.

You can find the application for Michigan Massage Licenses at this link.

Minimum Standards for Irene’s Approved Employers

In order to be added to Irene’s Myomassology Institute’s list of approved massage employers, the proprietor must be in compliance with the standards below. Employers who do not abide by these standards will not receive assistance in hiring new therapists. The following list contains the minimum criteria that Irene’s Myomassology Institute requires of an establishment to be an approved employer.

► Compensation

  • Minimum $20 per one-hour massage, discounted massage does not discount the therapist compensation.
  • Minimum wage is required for cleaning common areas, answering phones, doing laundry, and attending meetings.
  • Minimum wage is required for therapists required to stay onsite between clients. This time is compensated in addition to compensation for doing massage.
  • Therapists are provided with 100% of their tips in addition to their compensation.

► Receptionists are knowledgeable of all studio policies and specials. Receptionist must enforce all protocols in their job description. This includes, but not limited to:

  • Fair rotation of clients amongst all therapists to the best of their ability.
  • Introductory massage prices provided to first time clients only.
  • Phone calls are professionally and efficiently managed.
  • Clients are greeted warmly and transactions are handled professionally.

► A sanitary work environment with comfortable climate control is necessary.

► Any continuing education required by employer, is paid for by the employer.

► Therapists are not required to give free massages to other staff members.

► Therapists are given the opportunity to agree to the maximum number of clients per day, and the length of time between clients.


If the institute receives reports of an employer mistreating or under paying therapists, our career services department will investigate the allegations. If compelling evidence reveals that the employer does not meet our minimum standards they will be removed from our alumni referral list and will no longer be invited to career fairs.

In order to be returned to the Irene's Approved Employer List, official documentation (signed contract or employee handbook) must be provided that demonstrates the employer meets minimum employment standards. Documentation must include the following components: compensation; the method and frequency pay is disbursed; all required tasks in addition to performing massage; the length of time given between clients; the policy regarding the maximum number of massages given in a row and the total massages given in one day. All of this information will be held in the strictest confidence. Additionally, the employer must provide a minimum of two recommendations/testimonials from graduates of Irene’s collaborating their fair employment practices. The recommendations can either be given in person, over the phone or on a notarized sworn affidavit.